top of page

Multimodal Response 2

Updated: Sep 10, 2019

Pages 1-2

Nocturne Op 9 No 2

Frederic Chopin

Reason for choosing: This song is a light but intricate classical piece that I like to listen to when I am studying or reading. I thought it fit well as the introduction to the article because it is all about music and how it can help us understand.


Page 3

Liebestraume No. 3

Franz Liszt

Reason for choosing: This is another song that I like to listen to while studying. I chose this song to go here because this is where Shipka explains why she is doing this and also the criticisms she recieved from this multimodal experiment as well. I thought this song built well of the previous while also supporting a tone of drama.


Page 4 - 6.5

Blessings (ft. Jamila Woods)

Chance the Rapper

Reason for choosing: I placed this song here because this is where Shipka begins thouroughly explaining the benefits of adding sound and/or multimodal projects to writing. This song had the appropriate tone of being happy and also talking about blessings.


Pages 6.5 - 10.5

American Idiot

Greenday

Reason for choosing: This choice may seem more obvious as it's directly mentioned in the article, however, I thought the tone of the song fit well with the section of the article as well. The rock song complements the upbeat and fun potential that adding sound to writing and learning can provide. It also fit's the theme of rocks songs created in this section.


Pages 10.5 - 12

Money

The Beatles

Reason for choosing: I chose this song because the student's project is focusing on media that perpetuates the idea that Americans (even though the Beatles are British) are greedy. The lyrics go well with the message in the article.


Pages 13 - 15.5

Beverly Hills

Wheezer

Reason for choosing: I chose this song because it builds off of the previous and also talks directly about Hollywood and, obviously, Beverly Hills which is being discussed at this point in the article.


15.5 - End

Don't Stop Believin'

Journey

Reason for choosing: I chose this as my final song because it is upbeat and positives, much like the goal of multimodal learning and the benefits it can provide to education. It is a fun conclusion to the article and also reinforces the idea that multimodal learning works and that you just have to trust the process.


Playlist (Spotify)



Reflection

When choosing the songs for my playlist, I tried to keep in mind that the goal of the assignment was for the songs to complement and reinforce the article through their tone and message. Each song that I chose represented a section of the article in the way that I interpreted it. The song choices were aimed at recreating how I interpreted the sections of the articles through use of tone and/or lyrics. I think this playlist would greatly affect a reader's reaction to the article as it would act as a guide to frame their interpretation of the text. It would most likely operate in the same way that music does in a movie -- it frames the scene and how we absorb information through our other senses.





4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Multimodal Response 10

Throughout this semester, I have been exposed to a wide range of new media, forms of communication, and applications of writing and...

Multimodal Response 6

In my own terms, remediation is creating an updated, improved, or culturally modified version of a previous work to create relevance or...

Comments


bottom of page