top of page

Multimodal Response 6

In my own terms, remediation is creating an updated, improved, or culturally modified version of a previous work to create relevance or build on the nostalgia of the original or previous work. Bolter and Grusin have a similar definition, saying that they are adaptations of often a different medium or platform’s story. I agree with this definition and it can be corroborated through movies like Harry Potter, classic Disney fairytales, or most recently Game of Thrones all being adapted from novels or storybooks. However, I don’t think this definition is exclusive to adaptations. Live action remakes of older Disney favorites like Aladin and Lion King most certainly fit the definition of remediation as well.


Considering this definition and applying it to a project that I have personally been involved in, I think I have an idea for what I want to remediate. When I was about 12 or 13, my mom and I found a large old box in the attic of my recently passed grandma. Inside the box were dozens of folders filled with old family documents and rough, scattered notes of family tree links as well as some old photos. From there my mom and I made a project out of organizing these old files into a system. We organized it by last name of family members and descended the folders in chronological order of family history. We still have the newly organized box with the original documents, however it’s very difficult to fully visuallize the family tree. One possible way I could remediate this project would be to create a digital file system with all of the files scanned digitally and organized in an easy-to-navigate manner. The files could be organized by last name and could be searched by typing in a name into whatever platform is used to organize it. Another way to remediate this is to manually find each link from each relative and create a visual family tree with all the known relatives. This could be taken further by searching online for more links and filling out as much of the tree as possible.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Multimodal Response 10

Throughout this semester, I have been exposed to a wide range of new media, forms of communication, and applications of writing and...

Multimodal Response 4

When I began brainstorming for my nonlinearity project, I thought about ways in my life that I already "choose my own adventure". I...

Kommentare


bottom of page