top of page

Multimodal Response 5


For my first project slice, I feel as I have accomplished a lot of my final goals already. My initial goal was to recreate and update the park map, as well as add new elements that help a user interact with the space. Some of these elements include adding terrain features like creeks and forest markings, indicating parking spots, and creating a coherent system for labeling locations (such as the black boxes that indicate a named place as opposed to a trail). I traveled home this past weekend to map out all the trails including some that were not listed on the previous map. My next goal is to add photos to the yellow marked numbers on the map. I want to use photos to make the map more interactive and also give it a more realistic and immersive experience for the reader. I also want to add descriptive writing to the marked locations on the map to give insight on locations. My goals for this project have shifted from simply updating a map, to now adding new interactive elements like writing and visuals. I can anticipate this changing further by continuing to explore multimodal ways to enhance the map. I feel by adding these elements it makes for a better informed choice of trails by the reader. I have had much of my process so far inspired by the idea of twine. While I did not use twine to create the map or use it for decision making, I was fascinated by the concept of choice and where it can lead you after playing howling dogs. I thought that the same idea of choice could be used in a static visual way where the reader uses the map and accompanying elements on it to guide there decision. I want to add text descriptions to incorporate text inspired decision making as well similar to how howling dogs inspires choice. I am excited to keep working on this and to add photos to the map. It will be a long hike but a fun experience nonetheless!



This is an old version of the map that is currently on display at the park. The map is outdated, difficult to read, and does not have all the trails marked. It is also oriented in a way that is upside down to when you first enter the park.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Multimodal Response 10

Throughout this semester, I have been exposed to a wide range of new media, forms of communication, and applications of writing and...

Multimodal Response 6

In my own terms, remediation is creating an updated, improved, or culturally modified version of a previous work to create relevance or...

Multimodal Response 4

When I began brainstorming for my nonlinearity project, I thought about ways in my life that I already "choose my own adventure". I...

Comments


bottom of page