top of page

Shipka and Springsteen (Process Work 9/10)

Springsteen and Shipka both approached communication in an unsual way. While Shipka used sound to accompany writing and Springsteen used visual elements to illustrate a message about the Guerrilla Girls, both of them had the same approach to communication. They both utilized multimodal communication, the differences just being whether it was through sound or sight.


I can draw on this in my own work by analyzing the ways in which it helps the readers/audience understand a message. I think this same methodology can be applied to the nonlinearity project. While looking at the list of example options for the project, I was most drawn to the map idea. A map is a very practical and real-world example of how our choices can influence our life and experiences. In my project, I can utilize multimodal communication by adding pictures to the map or other elements to help a navigator understand the path.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Process Work (10/29)

Notes - Imagery will be key in this project (images of relatives etc) - Could be beneficial to include a male/female indicator (like a...

Process Work (10/15)

A nonlinear approach has allowed me to look at a physical space through the lense of a wide range of audiences. When creating a map, you...

Process Work (9/24)

While I understand the hard transition between writing and multimodal media, I personally do not find this relatable. I am a graphic...

Comments


bottom of page